Is it Vegan? 5 Quick Tips for Reading Ingredient Labels


I swear you have to check ingredient labels on everything these days. ⁣⁣


Case in point: A few weeks ago, my mom showed me a new spicy seasoning she got. I flipped over the bottle and saw that it contains buttermilk. ⁣⁣



If you’re new to vegan life, here are a few tips to avoid animal byproducts on food labels: ⁣⁣

  • Google the product and check out the FAQ on the company’s website. I used to do this all the time right in the grocery store. 💅🏾⁣⁣

  • Look for the “V” symbol (for vegan) on the back of products. ⁣⁣

  • These are a few common animal product names on ingredient labels: milk, whey, casein, gelatin. ⁣⁣

  • Try to eat more whole ingredients, so you don’t have to look at ingredients labels as much. If possible focus on fresh fruit, vegetables, nuts, seeds, grains, etc....foods that don’t have boxes, cans, etc.⁣⁣

  • Use food allergies to your advantage - The FDA requires brands to state if their products contains milk, eggs, shellfish, & fish right under the full ingredient list. Read that bold part FIRST, to see if it contains animal byproducts...then read the full ingredient list if necessary. ⁣⁣

  • Check out the Vegan Pocket app - One of my Instagram followers told me about this app and it really is a timesaver. All you have to do is scan the UPC and it will tell you whether or not a product is vegan. So handy!



Don’t aim for perfection.

Do your best daily and it will become easier to spot the vegan options while grocery shopping & eating out. ⁣⁣

I hope this was helpful. 👌🏾⁣⁣

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a Comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published